What Is Going On?

I often wonder just what exactly is going on today. I sit at my desk and begin to feel like my time on this ball of dirt I call earth is not being put to good use. I see several things that I do not like in my life.

I see an immediate need to set the record straight and begin to feel like it may never happen unless I do it. Sometimes, there are people to help,, sometimes there are no friends to help. I begin to feel like I’m not the one to solve the problems in life.

I have always been one to help,, to solve problems,, and now,, it’s different. I no longer want to solve the problems of the world,, I just want to change myself.

I know the test of a man is not that he can change the world,, but that he can change himself.

So, in the end,, the problems of life exist and given time, the problems take on new meanings if I try and solve all of them. I will no longer solve everyone’s problems,, no longer expect my selfish need to be loved to be filled by rescuing everyone,, I will only rescue myself and those I want to.

I recently met a fella who wanted me to help him do a whole bunch of things for him and his family,, I declined because the pattern of my life up to now was reappearing. I do not desire that reversion to my old habits to occur,, I want to change my life patterns and I will.

In the grand scheme of things, I learn lessons from my experiences. I learn that by doing the same old thing and expecting different results,, I might as well be called crazy, because that’s insane.

I guess change begins with a willingness to change and a recognition that all is not perfect. Perhaps in time, all will be perfect, but just for today,, it ain’t.

I hope this lesson in my life is one that is well learned and put to good use. Maybe someone, someday will read this and begin to wonder if we want to change the world we live in,, just change ourselves. May each of you experience peace and happiness in your life and may each of you live it to the fullest,, whatever you envision it to be.

2 Responses to “What Is Going On?”

  1. Marjori Says:

    It’s good to see you’re writing again! MRSA is very serious, so the $90 pills must be working. “I no longer want to solve the problems of the world, I just want to change myself.” Great words, and makes me think of Gandhi’s quote: “You must be the change you want to see in the world.”

    I’ve missed your writing, and hope you get well soon.

  2. LaCresha Says:

    But you have “rescued” others….and that’s not a bad thing at all

Leave a Reply

