How The Hell Can I Try A Lawsuit Without A Client?

I’m still trying to figure that one out, but come Monday,, it’ll be a reality. I have been appointed to a case that involves the termination of my client’s parental rights.

My client is unable to come to court. The government is seeking to terminate his parental rights and I’m his attorney. So, if he can’t or won’t come to court,, it’s his fault,, right? I mean, he gets what he deserves by not going to court,, if he can’t show up,, then perhaps he isn’t a good parent and his right should be terminated,, right?

I have a hell of a lot of fear about this case because I feel the same way as I suppose most jurors would feel about this case and I’m his attorney. So, if you’re the attorney,, what would you do?

I’m going to show up, that’s for damn sure. I’m going to show the jury mine and hope they show me theirs. When it comes down to it, the story I’ll tell will not be anything like the story the government will tell, and my story will be the truth.

I suppose that if you are reading this, you might begin to wonder just how in the hell can I know my client’s story without ever meeting or talking to him. I can know his story because I have spent time with other witnesses and parties to the lawsuit and have reversed roles with them. It’s the same way I can know the story of witnesses I’ve never talked to or met. Sometimes, that happens in a real trial,, you might not get to talk to some of the witnesses.

So, once you step into the shoes of another, you know his or her journey. It also helps that the techniques I use to discover the story allow me to discover the stories of several of the other players in this case.

Anyway, come Monday, client or no client,, I’ll be picking a jury and the trial will begin. All I know is the story. Sometimes that’s better than knowing everything else about the case.

Have a nice day and remember to hug yourself,, you really deserve it.

One Response to “How The Hell Can I Try A Lawsuit Without A Client?”

  1. Kenny Says:

    It’s never about what the parent deserves or doesn’t deserve… it’s about what the kids deserve… and that’s to have a relationship with the parent, even if the parent is a knucklehead…. my 2 cents. Kenny

Leave a Reply

