It’s Amazing To Be

I find it extremely satisfying just to be. I don’t know how many people are present in today,, but if I could offer one little piece of advice,, it would be just be. I often wonder how many opportunities we miss by thinking about the past or planning for the future.

I notice that opportunity knocks at the door only for those who are able to recognize it. I begin to wonder if maybe, just maybe,, the past or the search for the perfect future cause us to miss out on the moment. It all begins in the moment. I don’t know about you,, but I have never been able to change the past,, nor predict the future.

So why am I writing this bit of advice and what the hell does it have to do with trial? I’ll tell you,, it is so often that “lawyers” go to trial with completely prepared notes and scripts that they never listen to the responses given by the witnesses.

If you never hear,,, how in the hell can you carry on a conversation? How in the hell can you use your carefully prepared script when the response does not allow you to follow it with the questions you’ve carefully crafted?

It seems apparent to me,, that the greatest skill lacking in trial lawyers is their ability to listen. I suppose that’s why most trial lawyers are born with 2 mouths and no ears. Can your “lawyer” really listen to what is being said,, or is he or she just interested in asking the next question?

One Response to “It’s Amazing To Be”

  1. patricia Says:

    The comment my dad used to say: “Stop listening with your mouth open”

Leave a Reply

