Easily Distracted By Trinkets

It’s a big portion of my life that I want to work on, but just like the title says,, I’m easily distracted by trinkets. There goes my damn email,, so I’ll have to check on it before continuing. Well, it’s nothing important at least. Where, was I,, oh yea,, I’m easily distracted by trinkets.

I suppose that this problem goes back to early childhood and maybe the terrible fear associated with exploring me,, but it appears my attention span is somewhat short most of the time. What was that? The dogs are barking at 4:00 A.M., so I’d better go see what’s up with that. Oh hell, I’d better check my email again.

You see in order to get better at what we do, (try cases),, I’ve got to get better at being me. I read a hell of a lot of books, some of them are about being and getting better, and some are about chasing dreams (trinkets) in the old west. Damn, I have to check my email again. You know, I’m expecting a new fun event to occur and be invited to.

Anyway, back to distractions,, that appears to be my middle name lately. Why? Maybe I’ll go see a movie today. No,, I’ve got to do some work today for court tomorrow. So why is it that I’m easily distracted by trinkets? Damn that email, there it goes again.

Where was I? Oh yea, about concentration,, if I’m easily distracted, then there must be something wrong with me. Perhaps it is my way of dealing with trauma,, you know escaping. Oh wait,, email check time again. Hum, nothing. Now about trinkets,, they seem to distract me form completing any task I set forth to accomplish,,, so that’s what I need to work on most.

You know, sometimes we are distracted and the key is being in the present,, here and now. I have to look at why and that requires me to look into the mirror,, damn I just got to check my email, before I finish this thought.

Alright, I’ve identified the problem,, now on to the solution. As a trial attorney, your life has many distractions. If you can not deal with the distractions and be present in the here and now,, well,,, your client will suffer. So sometimes you just gotta say,, I’m not available right now and that’s me today,, in the here and now. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

