I Wonder If Gandhi Ever Felt This Broke?

I often wonder what Gandhi thought about money. I guess he didn’t need any. Perhaps he didn’t have a cell phone, a few land lines and office overhead. Perhaps he didn’t have a banker with his hand out. Perhaps he didn’t have to pay auto insurance. Perhaps he didn’t have to pay the electric company or for gas for his car.  Maybe he was broker than me, but richer than everyone.

Oh sure, he didn’t have all the luxuries that most people have today, but he had things that made him rich beyond his wildest dreams. He had his dreams and his beliefs and he never lost track of them.

Today, most people lose track of their dreams and compromise their beliefs. I know that when money is tight, I lose track of my dreams and compromise my beliefs. What that means is that I do “legal paper work” instead of just trials. I actually have written a will or two and have drafted a deed.

I don’t like doing paperwork, but it helps pay the bills. If it were up to me,, I’d do nothing but trials. In fact, that’s what I am tuning my practice for, but in the mean time, I still gotta pay bills. You know, I made the mistake of buying a new car and now I have to pay for it. I made the mistake of buying a new truck and now I have to pay for it. I don’t like it, but that’s the way it is.

I guess I lost track of my dreams when I listened to corporate America and went into debt to acquire items of crap that really don’t matter. Life is simpler when there are no bills to pay, plain and simple. So how do juries relate to this? It seems that everyone has taken on new debt before and I’m not alone. I’m just saying that sometimes everyone feels overwhelmed and the jury is no exception to this feeling. So when a plaintiff is injured and you are asking the jury to replace what was taken from them,, remember everyone has felt overwhelmed before. Share this feeling with the jury and trust them. Have a nice day,, I’m off to court.

Leave a Reply

