Prickly Pear Cactus

It seems odd that something that’ll sting ya will actually feed ya. Here at the ranch, we have so much prickly pear cactus that I don’t know what to do with it. It’s kinda like mesquite, you see one then turn your back and by the time you turn around again,, well, there are 15 or more of those plants growing.

Down in South Texas where there ain’t as much rain or water as here, the cattle have figured out a way to eat them. I know that the longhorn breed of cattle can eat those cactus without getting stuck by the thorns. I don’t know how they do it, but they do. Now sometimes the ranchers down there take blow torches and burn the thorns off the cactus and then the cattle eat them like candy. I guess that’s better than eating sand.

So yesterday, I decided to pick some cactus and cook it for grub. The first thing I did was check for snakes and then I cut a few of the cactus. After I cut them, I cut off the thorns and the rhine so that I could boil them up. I sliced the cactus into strips about 3/8 inch wide and 4 inches long then boiled them for 15 or so minutes in a pot containing some chilli powder, garlic and a pinch of salt.

After I boiled them and drained them, I chopped up some onions, garlic, and hot peppers and sauteed them for a bit in the skillet, along with throwing in some bacon strips that I cut. Let me tell you, it was pretty damn good. I put them in a tortilla and added some hot sauce and presto,,, dinner or breakfast is served.

Anyway, I figure that by watching nature and animals, I can learn to survive without Papa John’s take out. Maybe you can figure out a way to use what is given to you in your trial, instead of buying that fancy takeout crap and feeding it to the jury. The jury will probably appreciate a good home cooked meal. Have a nice day, I’m looking for dew berries next.

Leave a Reply

