Wow, It’s All About Picking a Jury (Voir Dire)

Everything I know about trials I learned from real life. I learn more from kids and animals than I could ever hope to learn at a seminar taught by those “Harvard educated lawyers”. The real truth about voir dire is knowing ourselves. It all begins with us, the warrior. How can we tell our client’s story without knowing ours?

I must be able to share my deepest darkest secrets with these strangers assembled in a room in order that I may receive the gifts they are giving me. That ain’t all that easy sometimes. Ever try singing in front of an audience before? I don’t know about you, but the most terrifying moment I’ve ever had was trying that very act.  And yet, I lived through it somehow.

It always amazes me that “lawyers” have a script for their voir dire. I hear over and over again the very same questions and lecture that these “lawyer folk” give juries and I often wonder if they are just afraid to try something different,,, or if they think their methods work? I don’t know, but here’s something I’ve learned. If you keep doing the same thing over and over again, all you ever would be able to do is that one thing. Why not try something new and different?

It’s a difficult thing we do,, standing in front of strangers trying to get them to share their “real” feelings with us. How the hell do you expect them to share when you don’t? I have learned that life is but a series of precious moments in time,, none of which can ever be repeated. Each experience is different for everyone, but the common experience (“life lessons”) are shared by all. The goal in voir dire is to get the common experience of your client’s story out there and shared by all, so that they’ll share their life lessons with you and your client. It’s that simple. Now Mr. Harvard educated lawyer,, how are you gonna do that?

Did those professors of law teach you that? I mean, did anyone actually teach you just to be yourself and not someone who you really ain’t? I don’t know about you, but my “life lessons” let me know BS,, plain and simple. If you ain’t genuine, then you ain’t gonna have my attention. That’s my experience in life. In the end, all we “lawyers” really have is our credibility,, and if we blow that,,, well, our client is the loser, plain and simple.

Ever make a mistake? I sure as hell have and do quite often. But I’m not afraid to try over and over again and learn,, how about you? You know,, I’ll bet most jurors have made mistakes too. If you act perfect,, don’t you think the real judges of your client will know you ain’t? Do you think it’ll hurt your client?

Remember, all real communication begins with listening and not some agenda or lecture. Do you want your jury communicating with you, or do you want them just half ass sleeping through your lecture? Have a nice day,, I’m off to the big city.

One Response to “Wow, It’s All About Picking a Jury (Voir Dire)”

  1. singing lesson Says:

    Yeah, i don’t know much about it, But i am a music fan. thanks

Leave a Reply

