How Come Health Insurance Costs So Much?

I’d just like to know why health insurance costs so much these days. I can remember when health insurance wasn’t so expensive,, back in 1978. Today, almost 1/3 of my cash goes to an insurance company and I’m to understand that the premiums are just going up and up for what I believe is less care.

I just don’t get it at all.  A quick survey of my portfolio indicates an abnormal amount of money spent on health insurance. It ain’t right. I sure as hell know it isn’t because “lawyers” can sue an insurance company,, the last pro-corporate regime in Washington took care of that. So what’s the reason?

Maybe it’s because my insurance company wants to have a record breaking quarter like Exxon / Mobil does or maybe it’s because of greed,, I really don’t know, but I suspect that the president and CEO of this corporation get bonuses and they are directly tied into the amount of profit they make.

So why not allow the government to give us free medical care? Why do I have to wait until I’m too old to work,,, (age 65) to get free health insurance. I doubt that anyone really argues against this proposition except maybe insurance companies and doctors. I suspect that if people were given the right to pay exorbitant fees or get the same for free,,, well you get my drift.

So why does it cost so much? I guess that all corporations are run for making money and not because of their giant corporate heart. I guess as long as there is profit, the insurance company will prosper and the end users (people like me) will get less and less benefits. I understand that if I don’t have health insurance, the costs of my prescriptions alone would bankrupt me.

So how does this relate to a jury trial? Perhaps there are those who think lawyers are responsible for causing corporations to go out of business and maybe they feel that if they don’t punish those who are responsible, (lawyers)  they’ll have not done their job as jurors. I suppose that the jurors don’t want to know that the corporation caused John’s injuries. I guess that those beliefs are ingrained into their heads by the corporation’s God (advertising) and the only way to combat it is up front. So how about this in voir dire:

Would anyone on the panel deny me the opportunity to show why John’s injuries are worth 7 million dollars?

Have a nice day, I’m off to court.

Leave a Reply

