Texas Hold’em (Up)

It’s not the card game I’m talking about either. I just write about things that I notice in my world and in life in general and then relate it to jury trials. Lately, I get the feeling that my ability to get things done is diminishing quickly. I broke my little toe on my foot the other day and I am still very, very sore from it. I also walk with a pronounced limp now. This damn thing hurts and it hinders me from getting things done I need to get done.

I am trying to get things organized for a trial I have out of state and its frustrating. I mean, I start to prepare for my commitment and then low and behold, I end up being delayed by some unforeseen event that routinely occurs. I just get very, very frustrated by this.

I often wonder how jurors feel when they are routinely told they must wait and wait until the trial starts or they must leave the court room because of some ruling that requires them to be out of the court room. It seems to me that the feeling I have just might be experienced by the jury when they have to wait on some action to occur.

Anyway, it occurs to me that the act of waiting and waiting is frustrating and if your jury is frustrated,, how can they render a just verdict? Perhaps we should try and cut down on the amount of delays in front of the jury and remember that they probably feel frustration when they are not a part of the action. Have a nice day,,, I’m off to another city after court.

3 Responses to “Texas Hold’em (Up)”

  1. lawmom555 Says:

    Do a chairback and find out WHY you are attracting unexpected events. My guess, you are unconsciously asking for delay. Find out why. It may be something to use in voir dire if it is related to the case – and I bet it is.

  2. paul2413 Says:

    I always appreciate when you tell me the truth and you know me better than In know myself.

  3. Texas Hold’em (Up) « The Life and Times of a Texas Country Trial … Says:

    […] jonk wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptTexas Hold’em (Up). By paul2413. It’s not the card game I’m talking about either. I just write about things that I notice in my world and in life in general and then relate it to jury trials. Lately, I get the feeling that my ability to … […]

Leave a Reply

