Saturday’s Events,,, Remember You Read It Here First

It goes something like this, the headlines say,,, “Man found strangled to death in bed”. That’s the only tag line from the official newspaper of the county. I like many seasoned attorneys feel the need to defend a good murder case,,, but who’ll be accused? Will it be Widow Parsons,,, the old school marm who was having an affair with the now deceased? Will it be his ex business partner, Bad deal Nolan?  How bout his kids, who rumor has it, were terrible abused as children?

I also know that there are several other likely suspects,,, just no charges yet. Having just arrived from Dallas, yesterday night, I know nothing about the intricacies of this crime,, but I know a lot about the local environment. Racism runs rampant in this area. It has been a plague since before the civil war and is still here today. It’s a shame that even in today’s culture,, African Americans and the Caucasians are not buried in the same cemetery. There are still areas of the county where you just know your place in line and that’s the way it is.

I have the luxury of devoting any amount of time I desire to any one case I choose and maybe when I’m hired,, I’ll do something special with it.  In between my defense of numerous drug cases and presentation of various personal injury cases to juries,, I really enjoy a good murder case. It gets everyone’s attention in the community and just like every case,,, there’s a lot riding on it.

Coming from way out of Texas to defend a case like this is a great honor and an awesome responsibility. The timing is incredible though as it is time to spread out my “little country practice” and go to new places and meet new friends throughout the country. Have a nice day,, I’m off to a big city to meet with a new potential client.

Leave a Reply

