Oh Man, It’s Time To Work Cattle

It’s that time again,, time to work cattle. I get up at around 4:00 A.M. or so and get ready to work cattle today. The cowboys are coming. It begins yesterday when the cows were trapped in the trap and fed and watered. That way, I have all the cows and their calves ready to work.  I will be selling some of the cows and calves, but I don’t know which ones yet.

I know I’ve wanted to get rid of “old fence jumper” and “pasture wanderer”. These 2 cows are trouble with a capital “T”. I put in a whole bunch of new fence and then all of a sudden,, these 2 cows, “old fence jumper” and “pasture wanderer” seems to create new gaps in the fences where none existed before. Also, these 2 cows are a bad influence on the rest of the herd as a whole. They tend to create anarchy in the rest of the herd. I expect to sell a few calves also. I’ve got 1 or 2 cows with mastitis and they probably need to go, unless the cowboys can doctor them.

One of the things we do when we work cattle is ear mark the youngins. The bull calves are cut and made into steers and even the older cows and bulls get vaccinated and wormed. After the cows are worked, we move them to a new pasture where they can eat until their hearts are content on grass.

So there you have it, working cows. Maybe next time, I describe the cowboys and tell a little about them. But right now, I’ve got to go get the wormer and vaccine ready. Oh yea,, how does this relate to a jury trial? Well sometimes, you just get “old fence jumper” and “pasture wanderer” on the panel and you have to either cut them out or leave them. I’m not sure what I do all the time, but generally I will leave them on. Have a nice day, I’m off to work cattle.

Leave a Reply

