Oh Crap,, It’s 3:30 in the Morning

You know in the country, we tend to get up early. I am a firm believer in the sage advice a fella named Bennie Franklin gave once,,, early to bed and early to rise makes a man healthy, wealthy and wise. Well, I sure as hell don’t know about wealthy, but at my age, I’ll settle for healthy and wise.

Now for those of you that tend to sleep in and claim they do their best work at night,,, hogwash. Every rotten decision I’ve ever made was made in the evening. How in the hell can you have any clarity of thought when there are so many distractions blaring in your head for 12 or more hours? I mean, in today’s society it is impossible to have any clear concise thoughts when all you have is constant background noise from a TV or radio. We need silence. That’s right, silence.

How many Zen masters meditate in noise? How many great writers write in noisy environments? Do you ever see anyone talking to themselves in a crowd? Do you sleep with blaring constant noise? For those of you that pray,, do you pray at a hard rock concert? No, I say there are just certain things you do in silence and making good decisions should be one of them.

I tell my clients to sleep on it,, that is any major decision they need to make. It is better to have a rested and clear mind necessary to make good decisions than to rush into something and regret it. I firmly believe that. Sometimes in mediation, I will simply ask to adjourn for the day. We always have a figure in mind to settle for and if it is not met,, then we go home,,, usually in 1/2 a day.

Having a clear mind and making decisions in the morning would put most divorce lawyers out of business. Could you imagine what would happen if we ask a prospective bride to marry us and actually had a clear mind? We may not actually take that step and make the plunge.  I’m convinced the entire reason marriages don’t last is because we ask the prospective bride to marry us in the evening and not the morning.

Anyway, I’ll bet that if any of you readers actually took the time to list the deals you feel most regretful about,, you’d find you made those deals and decisions in the evening and certainly not in the morning.

Anyway, I’ve drunk about 2 pots of coffee now and I’ll relate this post to a jury trial as follows:

Sometimes your jurors are tired in the afternoon and you may want to schedule your witnesses so that critical testimony is heard in the mornings when jurors are wide awake. Have a nice day,, I’m off to court.

Leave a Reply

