Jury Selection

I suppose its been quite some time since I wrote about picking a jury, so I’ll pen a little bit here bout that. You see, being from the country but knowing about the big city, it’s not too difficult to be open to all ideas and beliefs when encountering a jury panel. Now most people want to exclude certain types of jurors and I suppose that’s why most lawyers lose. I mean, if your case is about real things and not some fancy “legal” issue, then you can see how easy it is to pick a jury.

Now suppose you’re sitting on a jury panel and some “lawyer” begins talking bout “suppression” and crap like that,,, do you really think your mind is on the case, or do you think the “lawyer” meant suppositories instead of suppression? Suppose the “lawyer” begins talking about “negligence” or some such “legal” concept,, do you really think you want to be there or do you want to be fishing for big bass?

I just wonder if “lawyers” even realize what regular people think of them? I’m an attorney and I don’t have very good opinions about most “lawyers”. I just can imagine what real people think when they hear “lawyers” talking over their heads. I remember in second grade once I got scolded for doing something,,, probably putting a spider on Missy Gardner’s desk, and I didn’t like that feeling. Just about every time I listen to a voir dire form some “lawyer” I have that uneasy feeling from second grade return to me. I am certain that I’m not the only one with that feeling returning to them.

So lawyers, if you can’t stop lecturing to the jurors,, then at least understand the feelings that the panel has for you. I know you “lawyers” think I’m crazy,,, but am I? I mean, did you win your last case in front of a jury? How bout the 1 or 2 or 6 before that? Do you suppose that the jury just got tired of you lecturing them in voir dire?

Now I don’t know much, but I know this,, my dog listens to me better when I play with him than when I’m lecturing at him. Maybe it’s the same way with people,,, I don’t know. But I know this,, trial begins with the turning over of your client’s case to 6 or 12 people. You’ve got to get most if not all of these new friends to come to the conclusion your client deserves justice,, so how you gonna do that, Mr. or Ms. Lawyer?

I say again, it all begins and ends with the client’s story. Perhaps that is what you should be focusing on in voir dire. Have a nice day,, I’m off to the target range.

Leave a Reply

