Why Do We Have So Many Licenses?

You know, there’s just some things that bother me and the topic of this post is one thing that really perturbs me. How come we have so many license today? It seems that in today’s society, we have to have a license for everything. I mean I can count the number of licenses I have and it’s staggering. I’ve got a license to drive a vehicle, I’ve got a license that allows me to buy and to apply certain chemicals,, I’ve got a license that allows me to practice law,, I’ve got a license that allows me to hunt,, I’ve got a license to carry a concealed handgun and I’m sure I have many, many more licenses,,,, I just don’t have a license to remember all my licenses that I have. Oh yea, now I do,, I’ve got a license for my vehicles, I’ve got a license for my water wells, I’ve got a license for my off road diesel, I’ve got a license that exempts sales tax for farm use, I’ve got a sales tax license, I’ve got a license for my dog and I’m sure there are many, many more licenses I’ll remember as I wrote this post.

It’s ironic that the big banks and corporations don’t have an official license to steal,,, but they do anyway. I guess that we license the small guys so they don’t do bad things and then we don’t license the big companies and they steal us blind. Go figure. I mean the most one individual could steal in a lifetime could never equal what one small bank or corporation steals in a day. It don’t seem right.

I still think that the USA is still the greatest country around, but I question why the financial crisis occurs. Why aren’t there as many licenses for large companies as there are for small guys? Maybe that would have prevented the financial meltdown,, maybe not.  I don’t really know anymore.

Anyway, back to licensing, I’ve got a license to own and use certain computer software, I’ve got a license to use the internet,, I’ve got a license to use my phone,, I’ve got a license to use certain computer equipment and I’m sure I have many, many more licenses.

I’ve got a license to use my meager bank account, I’ve got a license to grow certain crops,, I’ve got a license to raise cattle,, I’ve got a license to use certain products. On and on the list grows. I’ve got a license to vote.

Now, I ask myself, have I ever given a license? No, I haven’t.

So how does this relate to a jury trial? Well, it seems that every juror is facing the same licensing requirements as my client and I am. It seems that the common thread is the government’s control of the individual by licensing them to death. So in voir dire, in the right case, the fear of not having the proper license might be an issue that I need to deal with. Have a nice day,, I’ve got to go get my car license renewed.

Leave a Reply

