It’s a Damn Shame People Don’t Say What They Feel

I’m always preaching to the choir and I’ll say it again,, “it’s a damn shame people don’t say what they feel”. Did you know that more murder / suicides happen because people keep things bottled up in them? The goal of therapy in my mind is for patients to be able to express their feelings in a healthy manner without doing harm to themselves or others.

It seems that in today’s society, even the words we used to say as children, (before the invention of Fox news and the “war” on terrorism) things like,, “I’d like a serious accident to befall that person” or words to that effect are looked upon as an immediate threat to everyone around. In fact, if you say those words in public today,, some DA’s office will likely charge you with a crime of hate and attempt to punish you severely.  I wonder what would happen if we really knew what people are feeling and if people wouldn’t be afraid to say what they feel.

Perhaps you would have a DA say,, “I can’t do this crap anymore, but I will lose my job if I don’t”. Perhaps a defense attorney might say, “I can’t represent this person anymore, but if I don’t, I’ll lose my self worth and violate the imposed belief system”. Perhaps a judge might say,, “I detest sentencing you to death,,, but if I don’t,  I’ll get into trouble”.

You know, part of life is experiencing the individual for who they are and then accepting them for that. Never judging, just accepting. I say you can never know yourself, until you can accept yourself for who you are,,, yes, even the deepest darkest secrets you have that are a part of you. Another person can never fully enter your life until you do that. When you accept yourself for who you really are, then you can accept another for who they really are. The key is to never judge them,, just accept them.

How many defense attorneys actually go to the client’s home and live with them for a day,  just to get to know the client? If you are unable to get to know the client,, then stay home,, how the hell can you ever represent them? The truth is not what the government always says it is,, the truth is what the story reveals,, good or bad.

You know, Charles Mason, Son of Sam, Jack the Ripper, John Wayne Gacey and others all had one thing in common,, they never said what they truly feel. Now not everyone is like those infamous people, but what if a “normal” person bottles things up inside of him or her for so long that it pops? What then?

It seems that there is a predominent culture of hate in this great land we call America,, that all the media influences have taught us to exclude those who don’t think like we do,, (reminds me of Goebbels), shun those who don’t vote as we do,, silence those who dare to think differently than we. Is that healthy for society? Is it healthy that we question the very beliefs that are in place today?

I mean look at the present economic situation, do we continue to believe those that got us into this mess in the first place? Or do we say,, it’s time to try something else? By the way, can the stock market go into negative numbers? Newsflash…. the Dow closed at -6,500, up 50 points from yesterday…

Is that the way it is with law? Do we continue to accept the thoughts of those who say,, it must be done this way?  Is that why America no longer respects its lawyers? Maybe the old beliefs are to be questioned and perhaps real change can be accomplished.

I strongly suspect that my clients enjoy have someone to talk to,, someone who will share with them their thoughts and not treat them like cattle,, win, lose or draw. But,, what do I know? I don’t even have a working TV, so I can’t be accepted as part of the “tribe”. I say,, showing kindness and compassion gets you farther than showing how much you may know,,, remember,, the jury will never care how much you know, until they know how much you care.

The jury will never care how much you know, until they know how much you care.

The jury will never care how much you know, until they know how much you care.

Have a nice day.

Leave a Reply

