So Saddle Up Boys

One of my favorite songs is by that country and western duet of Toby Keith and a fellow named Willie Nelson and it goes something like this,,, “We raise up our voices against evil forces,, singing whiskey for my men,,, beer for my horses…” . I really appreciate that song, not necessarily the whiskey part,, after all I’ve been sober a long time now, but I understand the importance of the lyrics.

By raising up our voices against evil forces,, we question everything about everything and can no longer loose anything at all. Now that doesn’t make any sense, but it really does. You see, freedom begins with a simple act of defiance, (thanks Mark B. for that saying), and defiance begins with a simple question or two.

So, it really is important to understand how we as people long to be free at last, to be the person we are intended to be. Some find solace in their own version of their personal God,, some find solace in their own version of hell,, alcohol, drugs or any number of other mind altering influences,, but however one finds their solace,, one thinks one is free. Maybe they are,, maybe they’re not.

So in keeping with a simple question or two beginning defiance, thus leading to freedom,, how the hell can one be free with Fox news blaring in the background, or any one of the other media channels, liberal or not. Now I may be stupid, but if you believe in God, didn’t that God give you the free will to ask questions? Doesn’t your God want you to express yourself as his or her or its own child with your own free will and childlike questioning of things? Isn’t life supposed to be a series of new adventures each day?

I mean, what if at the end of the day, it turns out you are listening to the wrong TV station all your life and when judgment day comes for you, Hell is where your favorite TV anchor resides and Heaven is where those other sonbitches reside? What then? I mean that can’t be right, now can it? That TV anchor said salvation is only through him and his TV station’s viewpoints.  Have you lived your entire life in sin, contrary to the teachings of that particular TV station’s viewpoint? And what if your TV pastor is convicted of child molesting or some other amoral crime? How could you stand at your judgment day and say I followed the wrong bastard to the gates of Hell contrary to what you teach God?

Huh, what do you do? I mean, can’t anyone think for themselves anymore, or have we all become a nation where we define our freedom by who we listen to on TV or what newspaper we read?

And by the way, many, many years ago growing up my birth family hosted a family from a foreign country we are or have been at “war” with, but weren’t at that time in my life. We did not find these folks to be God awful “terrorists” or the “axis of evil”, we enjoyed playing childhood games with the children, like tag, baseball, hide and seek, capture the flag, and so many more pleasant childhood memories that I never thought of them as “terrorists”,, just kids like me.  That’s my real life experience with those we are at war with or have been at war with. I do not think that every member of that tribe is out to kill us because just in my lifetime, these people were our friends, then our enemies, then our friends, then our enemies, and finally I think today, our friends again. I guess it depends on who’s in power at the time, whether these folks, who I played with are God awful “terrorists” or refugee victims of a horrible regime or civil war.

I say question everything and make your own damn decisions without media influences. I really doubt it that any of these “terrorists” are going to bomb my favorite deer stand in central Texas, but just in case, I’d better continue buying more and more guns and chemical suits and build a fallout shelter.

So how does this post relate to a jury trial? It’s amazing the prejudices lawyers face in jury selection because of media. I mean representing Plaintiff’s in horrible disfiguring tragedies, I run into jurors who say “frivolous lawsuit” over and over again like some mantra taught by some TV station until they accept it as their truth. And they recite this mantra until they are at the gates of hell themselves, horribly disfigured , crying out for justice and hearing over and over again,,, “frivolous lawsuit”.  Maybe they forgot to question everything themselves. Have a nice day, I’m off to court.

2 Responses to “So Saddle Up Boys”

  1. lyric » Blog Archive » So Saddle Up Boys « The Life and Times of a Texas Country Trial Lawyer Says:

    […] adamg wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI really appreciate that song, not necessarily the whiskey part,, after all I’ve been sober a long time now, but I understand the importance of the lyrics. By raising up our voices against evil forces,, … […]

  2. lawyer » Blog Archive » So Saddle Up Boys « The Life and Times of a Texas Country Trial Lawyer Says:

    […] heather wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI really doubt it that any of these “terrorists” are going to bomb my favorite deer stand in central Texas, but just in case, I’d better continue buying more and more guns and chemical suits and build a fallout shelter. … […]

Leave a Reply

