So, What Do You Want To Do?

You know, it seems that every time I am appointed to a case it becomes personal for me. The people I get appointed to want me to hold their hand the entire way through their case. For example, just yesterday, I got a frantic phone call from my client again. She was saying I hadn’t done anything on her case and on and on the screaming went by her at me.

I reminded her that she got arrested and I got her bond lowered prior to her surrender to the jail to get booked and she said that’s nothing. She then screamed at me saying I’m supposed to co-sign her bond,, which I’m not. She then screamed that I asked her what she wanted to do when I told her the offer the DA had made to her. I simply told her the offer like I’m supposed to and she again screamed at me,,, again all my fault.

You see, it’s all my fault. It’s all my fault that she got arrested, that she got caught, that she had to make a bond and that she now must decide her future regarding her case. Now most people are prepared to make decisions regarding their future. I must inform her of the offer and she can either accept it, reject it or make a counter offer to the DA.

Screaming at me doesn’t help anything. I also love the family yelling at me. Again it’s all my fault. I didn’t cosign on the bond. You know folks, I get tired. I understand that she is scared and doesn’t know what to do,, but how in the hell does screaming at me help? I mean, if I’m not that good, then maybe hire an attorney that you like, or maybe let me withdraw from her case. It’s her case and she should be happy with her attorney, but I can’t neglect all my other cases, just to hold her hand all the time. I ask her if she wants any deal and she says I’m not guilty, but I’ll take a lesser amount of probation. I can’t do that. Either it’s not guilty or I begin to negotiate a deal for my clients. Again screaming at me at the top of her lungs went on and on. So what do you want to do client?

A client should have a good relationship with his or her attorney, but you can’t please all the people all the time. Just remember as a lawyer, we signed on to help, not be screamed at all the time. Occasionally, a client’s screams are justified, but not all the time. Sometimes, you can’t help a client, because they won’t allow you to help them,, maybe it’s time to move on and let another attorney handle their problem. This is really bothering me and I was sick all last night thinking about it, so readers, what should I do? Please let me know.

One Response to “So, What Do You Want To Do?”

  1. lawyer » Blog Archive » So, What Do You Want To Do? « The Life and Times of a Texas … Says:

    […] Colleen McGushin wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptThe Life and Times of a Texas Country Trial Lawyer. Just another WordPress.com weblog. « The Wooden Spoon. So, What Do You Want To Do? By paul2413. You know, it seems that every time I am appointed to a case it becomes … […]

Leave a Reply

