Books, Books and More Books

I need to ask you, what’s the last book you read? Yea, not some book on law, but some book you read just for fun or improvement? I understand that reading books can severely get in the way of watching that contraption we call the boob tube, but none the less, books are to be read, not burned, So, again, what’s the last book you read?

Now I read several books at a time, just because I like to and some that are slow reading have taken me months to finish, but I still read them even if that’s the case. I am reading 5 books right now, some of which I just got for Christmas and others that I’ve had for a long while.

I read books mostly for enjoyment, but sometimes I read books to learn about myself more than any topic. Now I know that you can’t just read a book and “get” the experience, but reading can help guide you in the proper direction. Reading can help inform you of tools and resources from which you can learn more about what you’re reading. Reading can help you awaken to new possibilities and experiences. Reading can broaden your mind and greatly enhance your life. So, again, what’s the last book you read?

Now some of my friends tell me they read books to escape from life. Others just go to the movies to do that. I am tired of escaping from life, I really want to experience life. I realize that living life doesn’t require a great deal of money at all. I can go anywhere in the world I want to go by reading. I really just need to work on myself and interpersonal relationships to experience life in its fullest capacity. Reading helps me experience life.

I read some medical books, mostly about first aid and survival techniques, i.e., how to survive a snake bite, etc., because it might come in handy some day. You know, if I’m camping and happen to break a leg or arm, I want to know what to do, so I read about it. Up to reading about it, my knowledge about this subject was limited to what I once saw on a western when I was maybe 6 years old. I don’t think that’s enough medical information to treat say, frostbite or a broken limb. Also, avoiding drinking from a stream that might be poisonous may come in handy someday.

Anyway, I also read developmental books. I need to know more about myself in order to be a better lawyer. It all comes back to riding into town, (the courtroom) on a $10.00 horse and a $10,000.00 saddle or riding in on a $10,000.00 horse and a $500.00 saddle. I prefer riding in on the $10,000.00 horse and I’m certain my clients do also. So that’s how this topic relates to a jury trial; getting to know yourself will always make you a better trial lawyer. Hope your lawyer reads books. I’m off to town.

Leave a Reply

