Eating at The Dixie Cafe

Now yesterday it was time to eat at the Dixie Cafe. I normally don’t eat there, but our neighbors came over and out we went. The Dixie is a little restaurant in the big city of Hearne and Hearne claims to be the crossraods of Texas. I’m not sure why that is, but I believe that it is because several of the Southern Pacific railroad lines come through there. All I know, is there are 3 motels in Hearne and they’re building a new Holiday Inn Express. Not bad for a little city. I understand that the rooms are full every night with railroad workers or oil riggers.

Anyway, so here we go in the Dodge truck, the 4 of us, Chuckwagon Sally, our neighbors and myself. We left the dogs and cats at the main spread. We get into Hearne and notice that most of the city has its sidewalks rolled up, except for the Dixie. You see, we didn’t get there until around 8:30 P.M., well past my bedtime. We eat and then head back. On the way back, we begin to talk about wild animals. Our neighbor mentions that he has seen a cougar and Chuckwagon Sally swears she has seen one also. I can’t argue with this because I almost hit one the other day in my Ford pickup driving on the back roads around the ranch.

The cougar is a magnificant animal; you city slickers just think of one of your pet cats that is approximately 80 times bigger. It is fast, graceful and elegant. The only problem is the cougars like horse meat. Around here, and in Texas generally, we value our horses more than we value the cougar, hence the problem. I just wish these cougars would attack the wild hogs rather than the horses, but they don’t. So we have to always be on the look out for the big cats. Now I don’t know about you, but you’d better have an equalizer in your pocket when you face a cougar. I carry my .45 with me, because you never know.

Anyway, I’ve never had to shoot a big cat, but if it is between me and it, well, it has to go, end of story. So as we are driving back, we also talk about guns. It seems that my neighbor has just about every gun ever made. I suppose he’s ready for something, I don’t know what, but he certainly has enough arms to meet any challenge head on. I don’t know a lot about guns, except I have some and Chuckwagon Sally has 1 or 2 for shooting rattlesnakes and other varmits. But I do know this, if you have a gun, you’d better know how to use it, plain and simple.

You’d better be prepared to use the weapon you have, or you best not have it. End of story. You should know everything there is to know about it. You should practice, practice, practice, over and over again until using it becomes natural.  The key to being a great shot is to shoot over and over and over again. The key to being a great lawyer is to prepare, prepare and prepare some more.  I hope your lawyer prepares over and over and over. Hope you all have a nice day, I’m off to court.

Leave a Reply

