Eggs, Bacon and Coffee for Breakfast

Interesting title, huh? But you ask, what does that have to do with trials? I’m not sure, I just need to write about this. Here’s how the story goes. Each morning I get up around 4:00 A.M. and begin my daily tasks. Lately, it’s seems to me that the tasks involve more and more mental exercises until I forget all about the things in life  really enjoy,, hunting, fishing, building, ranching and of course spending time with the gang. It seems everyone today is in a hurry or can’t be bothered with anything that detracts from their precious time. It seems like everyone is too important to even take the time to say hello. I am thinking that I left the big city to get away from this behavior, yet I find it happening here at the ranch.

Just yesterday, it seems the cows are too busy too give me the time of day, the dogs are concerned with their agenda and the cats, well, they always seem to do their own thing and never mind me. I guess I’ll have to converse with the plants, but I suppose even they are getting ready for winter and can’t be bothered. I don’t know if it’s the current economic times, the fear that people associate with new territory or if it’s the weather, but I do know this world is changing quickly. I’m not sure I like that. I mean, most people would never perfer change, they always want the good memories to remain and not have to face the bad times or memories. I guess I’m different.

Each trial is a new thing, a new experience and I can’t just hang onto the old feelings and not face my fears. I must face each new experience like it is exactly that, something new and different. I have had to retry cases and I can’t use the same things that I use before, I must do something new each time. Any “lawyer” that tells you not to worry by saying to you, “I’ve tried a hundred cases like this before…” is not truthful. You might ask him or her out of those 100, how many did you win? I again say, each case is different, each jury is different, each set of facts is different and each experience is new, not a rehash of something old.

I know this from experience, people are constantly changing. I understand that things must change and today, I’ll have something other than eggs, bacon and coffee for breakfast. Hope everyone has a wonderful day.

Leave a Reply

